Unschlitthaus, Nuremberg

4.0
Unschlitthaus is located in Nuremberg. Using our world travel planner, Nuremberg attractions like Unschlitthaus can form part of a personalized travel itinerary.
Create an itinerary including Unschlitthaus
map
© OpenMapTiles © OpenStreetMap contributors
Unschlitthaus Reviews
Rate this attraction
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating 4.0
19 reviews
Google
4.5
TripAdvisor
  • The bridge is cool but wasn't able to visit the building. The whole area is nice to walk through. There's lots to see in the city.  more »
  • Unschlitthaus is a historic property located at Unschlittplatz in the Lorenzer Old Town just south of the Pegnitz. This is an interesting historical property from the Middle Ages that is worth a...  more »
Google
  • The impressive Unschlitthaus is located at the southern end of the executioner bridge, in the Nuremberg district of St. Lorenz. The 1491 built Gothic sandstone building was built by the famous Nuremberg architects Hans Beheim the elder. As a grain store created (the many skylights served its aeration), Unschlitt Office moved into the ground floor from the 16th century. Unschlitt = tallow - all butchers had to sell their waste fat to this authority. Which then process it further to candles/SOAP left. The North gable was heavily damaged in the war, the South gable is, however, still original. On the West side, a wall fountain with face mask in the eye falls – pictured here is the so-called "Hieserlein". The building is today called pawn shop and used, is open to the public without another elective office. Other surviving buildings by Hans Beheim the elder in Nuremberg: - toll Hall - Imperial Stables - extension Heilig-Geist-Spital - granary of the German upcoming of order of - police headquarters - parts of the Town Hall - Holzschuher chapel on the cemetery today St. Johannis
    See original
  • The impressive Unschlitthaus is located at the southern end of the executioner bridge, in the Nuremberg district of St. Lorenz. The 1491 built Gothic sandstone building was built by the famous Nuremberg architects Hans Beheim the elder. As a grain store created (the many skylights served its aeration), Unschlitt Office moved into the ground floor from the 16th century. Unschlitt = tallow - all butchers had to sell their waste fat to this authority. Which then process it further to candles/SOAP left. The North gable was heavily damaged in the war, the South gable is, however, still original. On the West side, a wall fountain with face mask in the eye falls – pictured here is the so-called "Hieserlein". The building is today called pawn shop and used, is open to the public without another elective office. Other surviving buildings by Hans Beheim the elder in Nuremberg: - toll Hall - Imperial Stables - extension Heilig-Geist-Spital - granary of the German upcoming of order of - police headquarters - parts of the Town Hall - Holzschuher chapel on the cemetery today St. Johannis
    See original

Plan your trip to Nuremberg

  • Get a personalized plan

    A complete day-by-day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it

    Refine your plan. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it

    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it

    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Popular things to do in Nuremberg

See all ›
4.3
Duration:1 h
4.4
Duration:2 h
5.0
Duration:1 h 30 min

Hidden gems in Nuremberg

4.7
Duration:30 min
4.3
Duration:1 h
4.1
Duration:30 min
4.3
Duration:1 h 30 min

Side trips from Nuremberg

4.2
Duration:4 h
4.7
Duration:2 h 30 min
4.5
Duration:2 h 30 min
4.7
Duration:2 h 30 min

Museums in Nuremberg

See all ›
4.6
Duration:2 h 30 min
4.5
Duration:2 h 30 min
4.8
Duration:1 h 30 min
5.0
Duration:30 min

Nearby attractions in Nuremberg

5.0
Duration:1 h 30 min
4.9
Duration:4 h
4.8
Duration:30 min
4.8
Duration:1 h 30 min
4.9
Duration:4 h
4.4
Duration:4 h
4.6
Duration:2 h 30 min
4.4
Duration:4 h