Erected on the eastern side of the city's main market, Frauenkirche was constructed in the 14th century, and massive restoration projects inside the cathedral have given the Middle Age sculptures new life. One of these works of art is the Tucher Altar, crafted in 1440. An eye-catching feature of the church is the Männleinlaufen, a mechanical clock that commemorates the 14th century Golden Bull. Charles IV, the Holy Roman Emperor, is pictured on the clock with his prince-electors surrounding him. For Frauenkirche and beyond, use our Nuremberg travel route planner to get the most from your Nuremberg vacation.
Tours to Frauenkirche
BOOK WITH VIATOR Discover Nuremberg’s most Photogenic Spots with a Local
Duration: 1h 30min
Tours from $81 ›
BOOK WITH VIATOR Nuremberg Outdoor Escape Game: Medieval Darkness
Duration: 2h 55min - 3h 25min
Tours from $7 ›
BOOK WITH VIATOR Nuremberg Nazi Rally Grounds & Old Town Tour from Munich
Duration: 7h - 9h
Tours from $487 ›
In walking around Nuremberg's Old Town, this is a distinctive landmark church at the Hauptmarkt. The Beautiful Fountain is also close by.
In walking around Nuremberg's Old Town, this is a distinctive landmark church at the Hauptmarkt. The Beautiful Fountain is also close by. more »
The Frauenkirche church is a beautiful place, in a fun area of old town. There are many interesting facts that we learned about this church. There is a large plaza outside and the inside of the...
The Frauenkirche church is a beautiful place, in a fun area of old town. There are many interesting facts that we learned about this church. There is a large plaza outside and the inside of the... more »
Beautiful structure and architecture.. maintained very well .. The Frauenkirche , today the Roman Catholic parish church of Our Lady , is one of Nuremberg 's most important churches on the east side of the main market . It was built at the instigation of Emperor Karl in the Parler period from 1352 to 1362 as a hall church with three by three bays ; on the west side, towards the market, there is a vestibule, in the east, in the width of the central nave , there is a two-bay choir with a 5/8 end . By Adam Kraftcomes the western gable with a tracery tabernacle for the so-called " Männleinlaufen " from 1509, which is still in use. Many high-quality sculptures from the time of construction around 1360 have been preserved (partly heavily restored).
Frauenkirche or " The Church of Our Lady" is an example of brick Gothic architecture, and it was built on the initiative of Charles IV, Holy Roman Emperor (reign 1346-1378) between 1352 and 1362. The church contains many sculptures, some of them heavily restored. Numerous works of art from the Middle Ages are kept in the church, such as the so-called Tucher Altar (c. 1440, originally the high altar of the Augustinian church of St. Vitus also in Nürnberg). The church was built in the grand market, in place of the former Jewish synagogue, which was destroyed during the Nürnberg pogrom (Jewish persecutions of 1349) which followed an outbreak of Black Death. Charles IV wanted to use the Frauenkirche for imperial ceremonies, which is reflected in the porch with the balcony, and in the fact that the church is relatively unadorned except for the coats of arms of the Holy Roman Empire, the seven Electors, the town of Nürnberg, and the city of Rome, where the Holy Roman Emperors were crowned. Construction of the church continued until the 1360s. Charles IV's son Wenceslas was baptized in the church in 1361, on which occasion the Imperial Regalia, including the imperial reliquaries, were displayed to the people. References to Wenceslaus can be found throughout the sculptural program of the church. Beginning in 1423, the Imperial Regalia was kept permanently in Nürnberg and displayed to the people once a year on a special wooden platform constructed for that purpose. The current west gable of the church dates from 1506-8. Historic images show that this gable was once richly decorated with sculptures which were presumably destroyed in the Reformation. In 1525 the church became Lutheran and galleries were added in the aisles. One of the most notable features of the church is the Männleinlaufen, a mechanical clock that commemorates the Golden Bull of 1356. The clock was installed in the church between 1506 and 1509. The Holy Roman Emperor is shown seated with the prince-electors surrounding him . The clock mechanism is activated at noon when a bell is rung to start the sequence and is followed by the trumpeters and drummer. Then there is a procession of the electors around the figure of the Holy Roman Emperor.
Plan your trip to Nuremberg
- Get a personalized tripA full day by day itinerary based on your preferences
- Customize itRefine your trip. We'll find the
best routes and schedules
- Book itChoose from the best hotels and activities. Up to 50% off
- Manage itEverything in one place. Everyone on the same page.Know more
Popular things to do in Nuremberg
Side trips from Nuremberg
Hidden gems in Nuremberg
Historic Sites in Nuremberg
Museums in Nuremberg
Nearby attractions in Nuremberg
Trips in Frauenkirche by other users
15 days in Western Europe SEE PLAN Siegen Amsterdam Luxembourg City 14 days in Paris & Munich SEE PLAN Paris Munich 60 days in Central Europe & Paris SEE PLAN Berlin Dresden Prague 46 days in Munich BY A USER FROM BRAZIL Alte Pinakothek Museum Brandhorst Naturbad Maria Einsiedel 41 days in Warsaw & Munich SEE PLAN Warsaw Munich 15 days in Switzerland & Bavaria SEE PLAN Geneva Montreux St. Moritz